MICHAEL SCHENKER GROUP Unleashes Lyric Video 'Drilled To Kill'

Michael Schenker has completed the recording of a brand new MSG (MICHAEL SCHENKER GROUP) album "Immortal", which will be released on on January 29, 2021 via Nuclear Blast.

"Immortal" was recorded at Kidroom Studio in Germany with Michael Voss co-producing and also sings on 2 songs. The album's main vocalist will be Chilean-talent Ronnie Romero (RAINBOW), along with Michael Voss (MAD MAX), Scheepers and Joe Lynn Turner (ex-DEEP PURPLE, RAINBOW, MALMSTEEN) singing on two tracks each. Band includes: Steve Mann (keyboards), Barry Sparks (bass, DOKKEN), as well as the three drummers, Bodo Schopf, Simon Philipps (ex-TOTO) and Brian Tichy (ex-WHITESNAKE).

"Brian was thrilled to be part of it," Schenker says. "He is a master of groove and ended up playing on six songs. I could not believe it: This man is something else. He is a true natural and very original. With his input, it made the album very solid and complete. So guess what — I am very happy."

Schenker on Voss; "It is always a pleasure to work with Michael Voss, who works around the clock and is a phenomenal musician and producer," Schenker says. "He was composing the melody and lyrics for a power ballad I had written the music for, and he ended up singing along. It turned out so amazing, I did not think anyone else could have done a better job for this song. Truly great."

Today, MSG has released a lyric video for the first single "Drilled To Kill" which features PRIMAL FEAR singer Ralf Scheepers on vocals, and keyboardist Derek Sherinian (ex-DREAM THEATER).

"Immortal" will feature ten tracks, including the magnum opus "In Search Of The Peace Of Mind".

"I wrote this song when I was 15 years old," Michael says. "It was my first-ever written piece of music which I recorded with SCORPIONS on our first studio album, 'Lonesome Crow', in 1970, getting released in 1972 — when I had already left SCORPIONS to join the British rock band UFO in June of 1972 — when I was 17. We re-recorded this song for my 50th anniversary as a celebration and it turned out to be an epic; with an extra extension at the end of the song, which turned out absolutely fantastic with Simon Phillips on drums, doing his usual amazing stuff." The result is a true highlight and features even more surprises. "Gary Barden sings the first verse, continued by Ronnie Romero — and in the end, we have Ronnie, Doogie White and Robin McAuley screaming their heads off, as a tribute to my 50th anniversary," Michael says. "Absolute amazing. Thanks to the guys for doing this!"

The limited first edition of this upcoming MSG album will feature another unique extra. "We have the MICHAEL SCHENKER FEST 'Bang Your Head' Blu-ray, recorded during our headline show in Balingen, Germany two years ago: unfixed, raw, pure and great!" Michael says. "There's a couple of small mistakes, but because the show and recording went so well, I decided to keep it the way it went on the night. It's live, magic and pure."

"Immortal" track listing:

01. Drilled To Kill 02. Don't Die On Me Now 03. Knight Of The Dead 04. After The Rain 05. Devil's Daughter

06. Sail The Darkness

07. The Queen Of Thorns And Roses

08. Come On Over

09. Sangria Morte

10. In Search Of The Peace Of Mind

51 views0 comments