top of page

JOE SATRIANI Releases New Music Video 'Sahara'

Guitar wizard Joe Satriani has released the 1st single and music video, "Sahara" off his new album 'The Elephants of Mars'. The 14-track record is set to drop on April 8, 2022 via earMUSIC.

Alongside the digital release, the album will be available as CD Jewelcase, CD Digisleeve (limited special edition with 14 images created by Joe himself), 2LP 180gr Vinyl (Black), Ltd. 2LP 180gr Vinyl (Orange, Purple and Pink).

The guitarist challenged himself to create a “new standard” for instrumental guitar albums to be measured against, one which would work from “a new platform of his own design,” as he terms it. “I want to show people that the instrumental guitar album can contain far more complexity of creative elements than I think people are using right now.”

Satriani and his touring band, all recording remotely in separate areas of the world during lockdown, answered that challenge in spades. 'The Elephants of Mars' crackles with an exciting new energy, briskly traveling through stylistic roads that feel freshly updated, viewed through new eyes.

From the gripping, sci-fi madness of “Through A Mother’s Day Darkly,” to the isolation felt in a decaying urban landscape, as depicted in “Sahara,” to the general endorphin levels that peak as the elephants finally roar in the title track, 'The Elephants of Mars' offers up an album length journey that never dulls.

It’s one that, thanks to the pandemic and no constraints, truly represents the album that Satriani himself hoped he could deliver with his band. “We did everything. We tried the craziest ideas. And we entertained every notion we had about turning something backwards, upside down, seeing what could happen.”

'The Elephants of Mars' track listing:

01. Sahara

02. The Elephants Of Mars

03. Faceless

04. Blue Foot Groovy

05. Tension And Release

06. Sailing The Seas Of Ganymede

07. Doors of Perception

08. E 104th St NYC

09. Pumpin'

10. Dance Of The Spores

11. Night Scene

12. Through A Mother's Day Darkly

13. 22 Memory Lane

14. Desolation

341 views0 comments
Anchor 1
bottom of page