top of page

Alex Lifeson's ENVY OF NONE Releases New Single, 'Liar'

Alex Lifeson's new band ENVY OF NONE is set to release their sel-titled debut album on April 8th via Kscope. The newly formed project is comprised of Andy Curran (CONEY HATCH), Alfio Annibalini and vocalist Maiah Wynne.

Over the last couple of years the RUSH legend has been concentrating on this project, ENVY OF NONE, which is set to blow everyone's musical cravings to bits.

Curran states: "I sent over an early version of the song 'Shadow', when I played what she'd done back to the others they were like, 'Who is this crazy talented person?!'"

"Maiah became my muse," says Lifeson. "She was able to bring this whole new ethereal thing through her sense of melody on tracks like 'Liar' and 'Look Inside'. After hearing her vocals on 'Never Said I Love You', I felt so excited. I've never had that kind of inspiration working with another musician. When we say she's special, it's because she's really fucking special."

"One of my favorite things about these songs is the intimacy of them," says Wynne. "It makes them feel different and more honest. There are some heavier songs too, like 'Enemy', and then tracks like 'Kabul Blues', that sound completely different to anything else."

"I visited Neil when he was ill," says Lifeson. "I was on his balcony watching the sunset and found inspiration. There's a finality about a sunset that kinda stayed with me throughout the whole process. It had meaning. It was the perfect mood to decompress after all these different textures… a nice way to close the book."


Alex Lifeson - Guitar, Mandola, Banjo

Andy Curran - Bass Guitar, Synthezied Bass, Programming, Guitar, Background Vocals, Stylophone

Alf Annibalini - Guitar, Keyboards, Programming

Maiah Wynne - Lead Vocals, Background Vocals, Keyboards

ENVY OF NONE track listing:

01. Never Said I Love You [04:06]

02. Shadow [03:21]

03. Look Inside [04:44]

04. Liar [03:13]

05. Spy House [02:23]

06. Dog's Life [04:36]

07. Kabul Blues [03:12]

08. Old Strings [05:15]

09. Dumb [04:19]

10. Enemy [04:16]

11. Western Sunset [02:25]


Anchor 1
bottom of page